D’banj Wins Best African Act Award at the 2012 MTV Europe Music Awards

The Koko Master D’banj has won himself an MTV EMA for Best African Act,  beating the other top African acts Mi Casa (South Africa), Sarkodie (Ghana), Camp Mulla ( Kenya), including our very own Wizkid.

This is not the first time the Koko Master has stolen the lime light, he previously won Best African Act at the 2007 MTV Europe Music Awards, Artist of the Year at both the 2008 and 2009 MTV Africa Music Awards, and Best International Act: Africa at the 2011 BET Awards.

D’banj will be going head to head next with India’s Alobo Naga & the Band and Ahmed Soultan from the Middle East for the chance to represent the region in the Worldwide Act category, which celebrates all the music that MTV has to offer by showcasing artists from all parts of the world. From now until 30 October, fans will be able to vote for their favorite regional act on www.mtvema.com.

The representative for the Africa/India/Middle East region will be announced on Tuesday 30 October, along with the other regional winners from Europe, Latin America, North America and Asia Pacific. These five regional nominees will then battle for votes for the “Worldwide Act” distinction, and the winner will be named at the show in Frankfurt.

Fans can vote for Europe Music Awards categories, including Best New, Best Live and more by visiting www.mtvbase.com. Voting for EMA categories is open until Friday 9 November 2012.

The MTV EMA is hosted by supermodel, TV host and entrepreneur Heidi Klum, the 19th annual awards show was broadcast live from Frankfurt on Sunday 11 November.


Naija for life!!



To receive updates enter your email
- OR -

Tags: , , ,

written by

Ugo is an author at www.gistus.com.
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>