The Headies 2012 – Full List of Winners

The Headies took place on Saturday, October 20, 2012 at The Expo Centre Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. Rapper Vector was the biggest winner of the night; after receiving his first ever ‘Headie’ in the ‘Best Rap Single’ category for his hit ‘Angeli’ featuring 9ice, the rapper also picked up the ‘Lyricist on the Roll’ award, which was presented by the five-time winner of that category, Modenine.
 ‘Artiste of the Year’ was awarded to Wizkid, who also won the ‘Revelation of the Year’ award. MAVIN Records crew picked up two awards for ‘Best Vocal Performance Male’ Wande Coal’s ‘Private trips’ and Tiwa Savage’s ‘Love me’ won Best Vocal Performance Female. The ‘Next Rated’ award which comes with the special prize of a Hyundai Sonata was won by Davido.
The event, which was hosted by Omawmi & M.I. also featured live performances by Bez and Praiz, who performed ‘Stupid song.’ Timi Dakolo performed ‘Great nation’ while Chidinma Ekile performed ‘Kedike’ with Dammy Krane and ‘Jankoliko’. EME All Stars – Banky W, Wizkid, Skales, Niyola, Shaydee and DJ Xclusive also performed. Burna Boy fell off the stage during his stage performance of his single ‘Like to party’. He later won the Rookie of the Year award, which he shared with Dammy Krane.
See the full list of winners below;
  • Best RnB Singer – May D – Soundtrack
  • Best Pop Single – Iyanya – Kukere
  • Best Rap Single – Angeli -Vector ft 9ice
  • Best RnB/Pop Album – P Square.
  • Best Street Hop – Chuddy K
  • Best RnB Pop Album – P-Square
  • Best Rap Album – Ice Prince – E.L.I
  • Best Vocal Performance (Male) – Wande Coal – Private Trips
  • Best Vocal Performance (Female) – Tiwa Savage – Love Me Love Me Love Me
  • Best Collaboration – Sound Sultan ft Excel and Flavour – Orobo
  • Revelation of the Year – Wizkid
  • Recording of the Year – Brymo – Ara
  • Best Label Head – Banky W
  • Producer of the Year – TY Mix – Super C Season (Naeto C)
  • Lyricist on the Roll – Vector – Angeli
  • Next Rated – Davido
  • African Artist of the Year – Sarkodie (Ghana) Azonto
  • Artiste of the Year – Wizkid
  • Album of the Year – Psquare – The Invasion
  • Best Music Video (Director) – Jude Okoye – Chop My Money
  • Song of the Year – D’banj – Oliver Twist
  • Headies Hall of Fame – Femi Kuti



To receive updates enter your email
- OR -

Tags: , , ,

written by

Author is an author at
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>