Pres. Jonathan appoints interim ministers to replace the nine sacked

President Jonathan’s administration  sacked nine serving ministers yesterday.  The President didn’t give any reasons for the mass sack but there are speculations in some quarters that it was politically motivated (possibly linked to the recent division in PDP). The affected ministers include; 

  1. Education minister – Ruqayat Rufai
  2. Minister of State for Power – Zainab Kunchi
  3. Minister of State for Agriculture – Buka Jinani
  4. Minister for National Planning – Shamsudeen Usman
  5. Minister for Science&Technology – Ita Okon
  6. Minister of Foreign Affairs – Olugbenga Ashiru
  7. Minister for Lands – Ama Pepple
  8. Minister for Environment – Hadiza Mailafia
  9. Minister of State for Defence -Erelu Olusola Obada.

They have since been replaced by interim ministers. See list below

  1. Labaran Maku (Minister of Information) –  Ministry of Defence
  2. Nyesom Wike (Minister of State for Education) – Ministry of Education
  3. Darius Ishaku (Minister of State for Niger Delta Development) – Ministry of Environment
  4. Musa Sada (Minister of Solid Mineral Dev) – Ministry of Lands, Housing & Urban Development
  5. Omobola Johnson ( Minister of Communication Technology) – Ministry of Science and Technology
  6. Bashir Yuguda (Minister of state, Works) – Ministry of National Planning.
  7. Akinwumi Adesina (Ministers of Agriculture) – Ministry of State for Agriculture
  8. Chinedu Nebo (Minister of Power) – Ministry of Power for State



To receive updates enter your email
- OR -

Tags: , ,

written by

Author is an author at
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>