Future Awards Africa 2013: Who will be crowned ‘Next Young Person of the Year’

The Future Awards Africa 2013 is set to take place on Friday 20th December 2013 in Port Harcourt. The event kicked off a week of celebration with honoring its #Best100 at an event hosted by President Goodluck Jonathan in the State House, Abuja. The winners across 15 categories and Young Person of the Year – The Africa Prize will be announced this weekend.

We are excited to see who will be chosen as the ultimate role model for young Nigerians this year,” saysChude Jideonwo, executive director of The Future Project. “We have an elite list across the continent, and all of them are winners. We look forward to an inspiring evening in Port Harcourt.

Past winners include NASA scholar Tosin Otitoju (2006), makeup entrepreneur Tara Fela-Durotoye(2007), author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (2008), musician D’banj (2009), scientist Ify Aniebo(2010), agriculture entrepreneur Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu (2011) and investigative journalist Idris Akinbanjo (2012).

The Future Awards 2013 poster

See the full list of Nominees below;

The Future Awards Africa Young Person of the Year 2013

  • Kariuki Gathitu – Kenya (27)
  • Foglabenchi Lily Haritu – Cameroon (27)
  • Peter and Paul Okoye – Nigeria (31)
  • Ludwick Marishane – South Africa (22)
  • William Kamkwamba – Malawi (25)
  • Ashish J. Thakkar – Uganda (32)
  • Saran Kaba Jones – Liberia (31)
  • Moctar Dembélé – Burkina Faso (22)
  • Grace Ihejiamaizu – Nigeria (22)
  • Patrick Ngowi – Tanzania (28)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Advocacy & Activism

  • Orode Uduaghan-Okpu (24)
  • Tobore Oro Edema (24)
  • Maryam Augie (28)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Science & Technology

  • Chikezie Nwaoha (29)
  • Yewande Akinola (28)
  • Hugo Obi (32)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Community Action

  • Dr. Okeke Kanayo (30)
  • Monica Onuoha (30)
  • Ife Adebayo (30)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in New Media

  • Kingsley Ezeani (23)
  • Ediong Umoh (26)
  • John Obidi (27)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Entertainment Talent

  • Ice Prince (28)
  • OC Ukeje (32)
  • Omawumi (31)

Young Media Entrepreneur of the Year Award (In Partnership with the British Council)

  • Uche Pedro
  • Lydia Sobogun
  • Kenneth Gyang
  • Olawale Adetula
  • Kemi Adetiba

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Journalism

  • Monica Mark (29)
  • Toyosi Ogunseye (29)
  • Ben Ezeamalu (30)

The Tony O. Elumelu Prize in Business

  • Saheed Jumar (28)
  • Melody Okwuazu (22)
  • Nonyelum Ibeh (27)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Public Service

  • Dr. Adanna Chukwuma (31)
  • Joycee Awojoodu (27)
  • Ekong Ekong Imona (32)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Professional Service

  • Osita Abana (28)
  • Adim Isiakpona (28)
  • Kayode Temenu (29)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Agriculture

  • Olawale Isaiah Ojo (24)
  • Precious Peter Nweke (31)
  • Abraham Ojoh (22)

The Future Awards Prize in Fashion & Style

  • Vera Akporeha (23)
  • Yomi Makun (27)
  • Aisha Bello (24)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Arts & Culture

  • Njideka Akunyili (30)
  • Anthony Anth Ezeokoye (30)
  • Kenneth Gyang (27)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Enterprise Support

  • Isoken Ogiewonyi (26) and Wonuola Odunsi (29)
  • Chibuike Aguene (30)
  • Ayodeji Adewunmi (29), Opeyemi Awoyemi (25), and Olalekan Olude (29)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Education

  • Gossy Ukanwoke (25)
  • Olufunbi Falayi (27)
  • Otto Orondaam (26)

About The Future Awards Africa
In seven years, The Future Awards Africa has produced over 120 winners and 1,200 nominees across the world. Our mission at The Future Awards Africa is to inspire leadership and build enterprise. With its umbrella The Future Project, it has been in the forefront of inspiring a new generation of leaders/leadership and entrepreneurs for Nigeria, working with the Africa Union, the US Government, the British Council, the Ministry of Youth Development, the Nigerian Presidency amongst other organs. Winners of the awards over the years include: D’banjDon JazzyMercy JohnsonTolu OgunlesiBanky WSeyi LawBridget AwosikaIfy AnieboDebola Lewis,MatseJesse JagzM.ILindaIkejiToolzCobhams AsuquoOnye Obanatu,Lamide AkintobiMosumola UmoruToyosi Akerele, Funke Akindele, Uche Nnaji,Banke Meshida-LawalChimamanda Ngozi Adiche and others.

About Red Media Africa
Red Media Africa is a PR & Communication firm under the parent company, RED. An innovative media company focused on Africa, RED’s vision is to excite and empower an evolving generation through the media¹s limitless possibilities. Built across tools and platforms, its Communication Division holds Red Media, Red Marketing and Red Media-SME Support; and its Content Division holds the Y! brands, including Y! TVY! TVY! MagazineYNaija.com, Teen Y!,TeenYNaija.comY! 2015YNaija2015.com and the Y! Annual Black Ball/Y! 100Most Influential List. It also anchors a development firm, The Future Project Africa, which presents Africa¹s leading youth platform, The Future Awards Africa, and other projects including theNigeria Symposium for Young & Emerging Leaders and The Future Enterprise Support Scheme.

The awards are hosted by the Rivers State Government and held in partnership with Microsoft, the British Council, the Federal Ministry of Youth DevelopmentAccess Bank and the Tony Elumelu Foundation. Microsoft will also be launching its jobs and employability portal, Aiki.ng at the awards.

For more information, visit www.thefutureafrica.com/awards. The official hashtag for the event is#TFAA2013.




To receive updates enter your email
- OR -

Tags: , , , ,

written by

Author is an author at www.gistus.com.
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>