Seven Firms Officially Licensed to Mine gold by FG

The Federal Government has issued licences to seven firms to begin mining of gold in the country soon. The firms are Retel, Savannah Gold, CGC Nigeria Limited, Erin Mineral Resources, Karing Five Limited, Mines Geotechniques and Northern Numero Resources Limited.

The Minister of Mines and Steel Development, Mr. Musa Sada, who disclosed this at a ministerial platform in Abuja on Tuesday, also said that miners were now mining other minerals as a result of the right environment created by the Federal Government.

The other minerals include manganese, columbite, chromite, coal, lead, zinc, tantalite, gemstone and granite. Sada said the Federal Government had also discovered high grade deposits of iron ore in new locations across six states.

He said in the last one year, the government had completed airborne geophysical mapping of Nigeria and produced 2,385 maps. The minister said, “We have completed 85 per cent of electric arc furnace, 95 per cent induction furnace, and 70 per cent installation of lead-zinc smelting plant for research and development in the minerals and metals sector. “We started a programme of supporting private steel production outfits, which resulted in raising the production figures for steel and other metals to over one million tonnes during the past one year.”

He added that within the year, 350 mining cooperatives were registered to bring the number of operators in the segments to 600.

Credit: The Punch



To receive updates enter your email
- OR -

written by

Ugo is an author at

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>